Home » Uncategorized » One down one to go: the fountain and the egg.

One down one to go: the fountain and the egg.

Start here

                   Last course of my Masters of Education (Information Technologies)

EEB503: Reflecting on possibilities; new technologies and modern pedagogy: What will distract me in my final 5 weeks?

How much can we give our students, how much is too much and should we worry that maybe we are choosing content that is beyond many of them? I came across this competition (Three Minute Thesis Presentations).

I intend to show this to my Year 5 and 6 students as an example of a presentation for their Genius Hour Projects, one static slide and a three minute talk. I want them to see how a simp presentation can be effective if they know their information and take the time to practice. Injecting humour, sticking to the time limit and appearing to be confident, good ingredients for a recipe of success.

http://

2014 UQ Finalist – Tyson Phillips from Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) on Vimeo.

http://

2014 UQ Runner-up – Sachin Thakur from Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) on Vimeo.

http://

2014 UQ Winner – Megan Rossi from Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) on Vimeo.

TED TALK

Ken Robinson Bring on the Learning Revolution!

HAD I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,

Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

W.B. Yeats (1865–1939)
“He Wishes For the Cloths of Heaven”
from the Collected Works of W.B. Yeats

Everyday children spread their dreams beneath our feet and we should tread softly.

Leave a Reply

